HO CUCINATO AL FORNO… Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

by valentinalucia

So this recipe I adapted from mybakingaddiction.com (which I LOVE, you MUST check it out!). I originally attempted to make this cupcakes exactly as the recipe stated, however I ended up turning them into mini-cupcakes with plain cream cheese frosting. I also substituted some ingredients to make things healthier. I’m all for that, by the way – I usually try to make things as the recipe says first, but then I manipulate them in my own ways to make them a tad bit healthier (applesauce instead of butter, YEAH!). So here’s my version of the recipe –

CUPCAKES:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon coarse salt
1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce
4 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin puree

FROSTING:

2 (8) ounce package cream cheese, softened

1 stick butter, softened

2 lbs. confectioners’ sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the original recipe, go to http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/pumpkin-cupcakes-with-cinnamon-cream/

I’m telling you, if you want to be a hit with you friends and surprise them with a tasty treat – this is the recipe to use! Even my friends who aren’t the biggest pumpkin fanatics were asking for more. To make things even better, my father – a full-blood, born-and-raised-in-Milano Italian, asked me to make these specific cupcakes again! When I did, I added about 1/3 of a cup of chopped pieces of candied fruit and ginger to half the recipe – as per request of my father’s pallet. I made these around Thanksgiving, so for my friends, I garnished the icing-ed tops with fun autumn-ish and holiday sprinkles. A crowd pleaser at any time of the year!

