VOGLIO CUCINARE AL FORNO… Vegan Pumpkin Walnut Bread

by valentinalucia

So people often ask me if I’m a vegetarian or a vegan, and my response is always the same – or, at least, has the same basic structure, “No, I just like vegan/vegetarian foods – and I’m Italian, that’s not allowed in my family!” Hah, not to say there aren’t any vegan or vegetarians who are Italian, I’m sure there are – but to all those people – Mi dispiace. I wouldn’t be able to handle no parmigiano reggiano or chicken cacciatore. I’m not strong enough.

However, I do love many vegan and vegetarian dishes. I discovered them when I first came to college and wanted to keep a healthy diet in the dining hall. Lucky for me, Syracuse University caters to vegans and vegetarians alike – is it food that would make a strict vegan or vegetarian’s mouth water? Well, I would guess not, but it serves its purpose. Thanks to my discovery of these foods, I began looking for vegan and vegetarian recipes to try out. I think the style of cooking used in vegan and vegetarian meals is a great skill to be familiar with, and since i love making recipes healthier by substituting different ingredients with others, this seemed like the perfect route to investigate.

That’s when Baby Jesus plopped this DELICIOUS looking recipe in my lap, courtesy of Joy the Baker and her blog. I have not attempted this recipe yet, but it’s on the top of my list along with may others. Vegan Pumpkin Walnut Bread… do you hear the choir of angels singing? Maybe? I do.

I have also found that I have a strange obsession with pumpkin. It keeps everything moist and is very healthy – studies have shown pumpkin to be useful in keeping the immune system strong due to its high carotenoid content. It also is chock-full of alpha-carotene, which can slow the aging process and prevent cataract formation, and potassium, which can lower the risk of hypertension.

The full recipe for Vegan Pumpkin Walnut Bread can be found here!

http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2009/11/vegan-pumpkin-walnut-bread/#more-1888

Side note: Joy the Baker’s blog is bookmarked on my computer. One of my favorite food blogs around – check her out!

