HO FATTO… an amazing fruit and cereal creation!

by valentinalucia

Alright, I know this is going to sound simple and silly, and some people my even wonder why I felt this was important enough to post. But that’s alright! Because this fruit and cereal combo I made is amazing 🙂 Simple, yet amazing.

Chocolate Cheerios

First of all, since when do they have CHOCOLATE Cheerios? I bet the Big Man Upstairs chuckled to himself and said, “You know what would be a funny joke – cocoa and Cheerios. Those humans won’t know what to say.” Well, He was right. My mother bought a box of these for my brother to try. Those attempts were unsuccessful, so I have inherited the box of deliciousness and let me tell you – they are just little O’s of lightly cocoa-ed goodness! When I first ate them, I exclaimed to my mother how much they tasted like CoCo Puffs – which they do – however they are even better than CoCo Puffs because they don’t taste like they’re coated with sugar and other refined messes of crystals. They just taste like regular Cheerios infused with a bit of cocoa.

So I took this little-choco-warrior of a cereal and mixed it with its grand-daddy cereal, regular Cheerios, and threw in some slices of bananas and strawberries. I thought I would stop there, considering I was salivating profusely already (not exactly attractive, I know), but no! I decided to go one step further and add a touch of one of my favorite spices – cinnamon.

I love cinnamon.

cinnamon

Did I ever tell you that I love cinnamon?

I love cinnamon.

I could add cinnamon to almost any baked good recipe, and to a lot of other things as well. When I’m home from college, I add cinnamon to my cappuccino that I have in the morning with my parents. I love cinnamon so much that I’m bringing back a small container of it with me to college so I can sprinkle it on cereal and other treats to make them even tastier. I just think it’s such a wonder spice, it really livens-up any food you use it with, in an almost festive and holiday-like way. Also, to make cinnamon even better, in my health research, it has been found that just a small bit of cinnamon a day can reduce LDL cholesterol. Cinnamon is also a great source of magnesium, fiber, calcium and iron, and one study eve connected the smelling of cinnamon to a boost in cognitive function and memory!

Try this fruit and cereal combo, trust me, it makes for a great, light breakfast or lunch – and it’s so easy and quick to make too!

Coco-Cheerio Cinnamon Fruit Bowl

1/2 cup of regular Cheerios

1/2 cup of Chocolate Cheerios

1 medium banana, sliced

4 fresh strawberries, sliced

1 tsp cinnamon

1. Mix both regular and Chocolate Cheerios in a bowl.

2. In a separate bowl, slice banana and strawberries.

3. Combine cereal and fruit, mix with spoon.

4. Sprinkle cinnamon on top of mixture, mix one more time to coat all ingredients with cinnamon.

ENJOY! 🙂

