RICETTA! Peanut Butterscotch Cookies!

by valentinalucia

One of the first things I ever baked was a recipe for peanut butterscotch cookies. I love the combination – rich peanut butter and sweet, candy-like butterscotch – it’s perfect! This is a different recipe, however, one that I adapted from Emeril Lagasse’s recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip cookies that was published in Everyday Food’s March 2010 edition. This recipe is SO easy – there’s no flour involved! With literally six ingredients, I was able to bang this batch of cookies out in around 20 minutes, which was good, because my mom needed me out of the kitchen! This is recipe #2 I’ll be bringing back to college for my friends. People say I should charge for this… I’d make good money, hah.

peanut butterscotch cookie batter

ready for the oven!

Peanut Butterscotch Cookies

Adapted from Emeril Lagasse’s recipe for peanut butter – chocolate chip cookies (Everyday Food)

Ingredients:

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar

1/2 cup butterscotch chips

1 large egg, beaten

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In large bowl, combine all ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon until smooth. Divide dough into 24 portions, about 1 heaping tablespoon each. Roll each between your hands to form a smooth ball. Place dough balls about 1 inch apart, on two ungreased baking sheets. Using a fork, press dough in two directions for form a crosshatch pattern.

2. Bake cookies until puffed and lightly golden, 10-12 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Let cookies cool on sheets.

I mean really, who doesn’t love peanut butter and butterscotch? Delicious!

