VORREI CUCINARE… Hazelnut Cake “Capriccio Alle Nocciole”

by valentinalucia

Freshman year of college is almost over – can anyone else hear the choir of angels singing in joyous rapture? Hah, but really, in all seriousness, I’ve had a great first year at Syracuse, but I’m SO happy for it to be over. It’s strange, as finals approach and classes begin to come to a close, people begin to act more and more peculiar. I discovered today that I have still a lot to learn about people in college. They can surprise you for the better, or for the worst sometimes. But I have many things to look forward to in the next few days. My best friend from home is coming up tomorrow for the weekend! I can’t wait to take her to the Dome, out for sushi, to meet my friends and other exciting Syracuse events of life. My birthday is next Tuesday, too 🙂 The only downside to that is that it’s the last day of classes – so I have tests, hah. Not too many though, and for my last class my professor, whom I LOVE dearly, Miss Ann Hettinger, is taking us to Varsity for pizza 🙂

Hazelnut Cake

Anyway, back to the baking! I found this new recipe on Bake or Break for a delicious looking hazelnut cake. Referred to as “Capriccio Alle Nocciole” in the Web site’s description, the cake is chock-full of hazelnuts (about a cup and a half, grounded) and results in a buttery, luscious texture. This will definitely be on my list of things to bake this summer (which is growing very rapidly, might I add!). I love hazelnuts in any way, shape or form, so when I saw this recipe, I immediately was drawn to it. You can find the full recipe here.

Not only are hazelnuts one of the most preferred and tasty nuts out there for sample, they also pack great nutritional value, too! Hazelnuts have one of the lowest percentages of saturated fat of any nut (with almonds and peanuts), and also provide tons of healthy, mono- and polyunsaturated fats. One serving of hazelnuts, about 21 kernels, contains about 12.942 g of monounsaturated fats! These heart-healthy fats have been proven to reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease, and to lower blood pressure.

Hazelnuts are one of the best providers of vitamin E. Much attention has been brought to vitamin E as a crucial antioxidant for cardio health, so much so that supplements for vitamin E have been flying off the shelves. Instead of buying expensive supplements, just grab a handful of hazelnuts as a snack! The same single serving of hazelnuts that packs all those healthy fats spoken of above also contain 4.26 mg of vitamin E, second only to almonds.

Interested in other nutritional facts and fun info about hazelnuts? Visit this great Web site I just stumbled upon – Hazelnut Council. This company is one of the leading producers, importers and distributors of hazelnuts in the country, so they know their nuts!

