HO CUCINATO… Pasta Arruminata

by valentinalucia

Summer has officially begun!

I’m so happy to be home – well, at a makeshift home for now! I’m staying with my dad in Framingham, MA while we wait only about another week and a half to close on our new house. So, while I may not be in an actual home, an apartment will do just fine for now – especially since I do have a small kitchen to work with 🙂

My first recipe of summer – Pasta Arruminata. A typical pasta dish from southern Italy, Pasta Arruminata was suggested to me by my dad as a simple dinner I could make. I spices up traditional pasta and tomato sauce with broccoli, raisins and pine nuts. When I told my mother last night I would make this, she grimaced and asked why I would make something with broccoli and raisins mixed with tomato sauce. I’m all for experimenting, and this technically isn’t much experimenting, considering southern Italians have made this dish for years. Personally, I loved the taste. I used Whole-Wheat Barilla Rotini and Newman’s Own Tomato and Basil Sauce, and I think the sweetness of the raisins really brought forth the hidden flavors of the tomato sauce. I also added a bit of red pepper flakes, mainly because I love all my food spicy and heated, but I found that adding that extra dash of heat complimented the sweetness created by the raisin-tomato sauce. The broccoli and pine nut added two different textures to the dish as well. This dish is so simple, quick and full of flavor – I’d love to make it again in the future!

Pasta Arruminata (serves 2)

Ingredients:

1/2 box Whole-Wheat Barilla Rotini

olive oil for sauteing

1/2 large onion

2 cloves garlic

2 cups broccoli florets

1/4 cup raisins

1 small handful pine nuts

1 1/2 cup Newman’s Own Tomato and Basil Sauce

red pepper flakes (to taste)

salt (for pasta water and sauce)

grated Parmesano Reggiano

Preparations:

1. Prepare rotini as directed on box.

2. While pasta is being prepared, heat olive oil in skillet for sauteing. Chop onion and saute in skillet until golden brown, about 5-6 minutes. Chop garlic and add to skillet. Stir skillet contents and cook for about 1 minute. Add broccoli florets, raisins and pine nuts and stir. Add tomato sauce, red pepper flakes and a pinch of salt to skillet and stir thoroughly. Let mixture simmer for about 3-4 minutes.

3. Once cooked, drain rotini in colander, then pour pasta into skillet. Mix pasta with skillet contents until fully incorporated. Serve immediately with grated Parmesano Reggiano.


