HO CENATO… Mexicorn Frittata with Broccoli and Mozzarella

by valentinalucia

It’s dangerous to leave me alone in an apartment with a computer… do you know why? Well, one of two things could happen.

1. Lots of cooking and baking ideas could be concocted in my focused, little brain, ultimately bringing chaos to any kitchen I am close to.

2. Money, and lots of it, could be spent on food, clothing and other paraphernalia available through online shopping.

Luckily for my family, only the former happened to me today, hah. I literally spent most of my time today fiddling through recipes from some of my favorite food blogs, deciding what damage I’ll do next week in the cozy confines of my Daddy’s teeny kitchen in Framingham. If all goes my way, I’ll have some great photos and recipes to share next week 🙂 Sleep well this weekend, Little Kitchen, you’re in for a bumpy ride come Monday.

Dinner tonight was an adventure! I made a Mexicorn Frittata with Broccoli and Mozzarella. This recipe really used things left over from the week, with the only things I needed to buy being a small can of Green Giant Mexicorn (a mix of corn, red peppers and green peppers) and a few more eggs.

Frittatas in general are very nostalgic for me. My family makes them often, but not so often that I’ve become immune to their fun, unique tastes and textures. I love the simplicity of frittatas, and the fact that you cannot overcook eggs – you just have to make sure you don’t burn them while making something like a frittata. Also, depending on your personal taste, you can fill frittatas with whatever you like! So really, while frittatas themselves are very simple, the meal could be as complex as you’d like in the end, depending on the filling. We had left over broccoli florets from our Pasta Arruminata earlier this week, and a piece of Bel Gioioso mozzarella cheese I had bought for another dish but ended up not using.

The kicker for me in this recipe was the Mexicorn. I loved the sweetness the corn and peppers gave to the frittata, and combining that sweetness with the heat of the cooked eggs and the hidden saltiness of the black olives really sealed the deal for this meal.

Mexicorn Frittata with Broccoli and Mozzarella (serves 2-3)

Ingredients:

1/2 yellow onion

1 clove garlic

olive oil for sauteing

2 cups broccoli florets (chopped)

1/2 cup fresh mozzarella (cubed)

1/3 cup black olives (chopped)

1 11 oz. can Green Giant Mexicorn

6 eggs (2 full eggs, 4 egg whites)

5 basil leaves (sliced)

1 tablespoon parsley

1 tablespoon oregano

salt and pepper to taste

Preparations:

1. Saute onions and garlic in olive oil until light, golden brown. Take off heat and let sit for 3-4 minutes.

2. Combine broccoli, mozzarella, black olives and mexicorn in bowl to make the filling. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, egg whites, and salt and pepper together. Pour filling into eggs and mix thoroughly. Add basil, parley, and oregano and mix.

3. Drizzle heated skillet with olive oil. Pour frittata mixture into skillet, cover the skillet, and let cook for 10 minutes (until brown on bottom). Wiggle the skillet every so often to make sure the frittata doesn’t stick to the bottom of the skillet.

4. Once bottom is brown, flip frittata to cook other side – about 5-10 minutes. Repeat process of first side: wiggle the skillet every once in a while and keep your eye on the bottom of the frittata to see when it become brown.

5. Once cooked, slice frittata and serve immediately.

TIP: Covering the skillet while the frittata cooks on the first side will help cook the egg faster on both sides. It will also help cut the cooking time of the second side of the frittata once you flip it.

TIP: If you like your food spicy (like I do!), garnish the frittata with red pepper flakes right before serving.

