BISCOTTI? Misshapen Chocolate Chip Cookies – still delish!

by valentinalucia

So I jazzed up David Lebovitz’s famed recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies from Great Book of Chocolate last week. I changed the recipe up a bit, adding my own flare here and there, and the cookies turned out scrumptious. The only bone I had to pick (or should I say, chip I had to chew) with these cookies is the funny shape most of them took on once they were cooked.

When I make cookies, I like them to look like cookies – round, flat if they’re supposed to be flatter, puffy if their supposed to be puffier, so on and so forth. These cookies, due to butter I’m speculating, expanded into each other, so once they came out of the oven, I had to cut the cookies apart from each other. This created rectangular and square cookies – cookies nonetheless – but still, square. I was a bit bummed out because, what can I say, I’m a traditionalist I suppose when it comes to the shapes of my cookies, hah.

Advice to bakers everywhere – when making cookies on a regular cookie sheet, make sure to not overwhelm the cookie sheet with dough. Spread your cookies over numerous baking sheets, this will ensure that the individual cookies will not expand into each other, creating cookie logs or sheets of dough. I think it’s safe to say about nine cookies per sheet is an acceptable number – depending on the yielding amount of the recipe you’re making, of course.

Geometric cookies pish-posh! Whatever shape they were, these cookies taste delicious 🙂 I like my version, adding in a touch of cinnamon and mixing things up with different flours and sugars. I’m telling you, using both dark and light brown sugar in ANY recipe that calls for just light or just dark provides a whole new dimension of sweetness to the finished product. I especially enjoyed these cookies after they were sealed in an air-tight container and put in the refrigerator overnight. They became harder and definitely colder, but still maintained a slight chewiness in the middle. Fantastic!

Great Chocolate Chip Cookies (make about 20 cookies)

Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

Ingredients:

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup white whole-wheat flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

2/3 walnuts, chopped

Preparations:

1. Adjust the oven rack to the top 1/3 of the oven and preheat to 300 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray three baking sheets with nonstick spray.

2. Beat the sugars, butter and applesauce together until smooth. Mix in the egg, vanilla, baking soda and cinnamon. Stir together the flour and salt, then mix them into the batter. Mix in the chocolate chips and nuts.

3. Scoop the cookie dough into 2-tablespoon balls and place balls on each of the baking sheets.

4. Bake for 18 minutes, or until pale golden brown. Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.

Store at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Make about 20 cookies.

