MANGIA LA TUA CENA… Rotini with Roasted Tomatoes and Olives

by valentinalucia

I adapted this recipe from the recipe for Oven Puttanesca in the most recent issue of Whole Living. Since I didn’t have capers or kalamata olives as the recipe calls for, I made the dish with sauteed onions and black olives. I’m pleased to say it turned out quite good! Roasting tomatoes is one of my favorite ways to have tomatoes in a meal – roasting really brings out the sweetness of the tomatoes, while still infusing them with an earthy, deep, roasted flavor.

Black olives in the oven were a nice surprise for me. I can literally put olives with any meal and I love it – they’re just one of those ingredients that I can’t get enough of. I’ve never experimented before with putting them in the oven, and I really like the way the heat brings out the unique, olive taste.

Oh, and let’s not forget the garlic in the oven. Garlic, in any shape or form, is delicious. End of story. My garlic in this recipe was even a little crispy (as in crispy, I mean burned – oops!), and yet it STILL was amazing. Maybe it’s just my taste…. 🙂

Rotini with Roasted Tomatoes and Olives (serves 2-3)

Ingredients:

4 tomatoes, cut into small wedges

3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

1/3 cup black olives, cut into halves

parsley

salt

pepper

red pepper flakes

rosemary (optional)

1/2 yellow onion, chopped fine

1/2 box whole-wheat rotini pasta

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and spray foil with nonstick spray.

2. Toss tomatoes, garlic, parsley, salt, pepper, rosemary, red pepper flakes and one tablespoon of olive oil on the baking sheet. Roast for 35 minutes. Add olives and roast for 7-10 more minutes.

3. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook as directed, until al dente. Drain. While pasta cooks, saute onions in an olive-oil drizzled skillet (use the remaining one tablespoon) with salt and pepper.

4. Toss pasta with tomato sauce, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

