BICOTTINI… Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti!

by valentinalucia

I adapted this from Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti. I really didn’t make many changes to the actual recipe, I just decided to cut it in half to better suit my family’s appetite (although, I probably could have made the entire batch and my father would have eaten it all anyway!).

I really enjoy these cookies. I always liked biscotti in the first place – they have a texture that makes them unique in the cookie world and a taste that isn’t supposed to be overwhelming, but just enough to give you the urge to dunk them in a hot cup of coffee and have them melt in your mouth. I love the chocolate and hazelnut combination as well. Unsweetened cocoa powder is complimented by the little addition of espresso powder in the recipe enough to bring forth the rich, deep flavor of the cocoa, but not taste like espresso. The toasted hazelnuts provide their own distinct, nutty aromas and flavors, giving the eater something of a surprise to bite into and feel the goodness!

For the full Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti recipe, visit Smitten Kitchen.

