PASTE E VERDURE… Pasta with Zucchini, Eggplant and Tomato

by valentinalucia

Another recipe that looked so good on paper (or online, I should say) that I just had to try it out for myself – Pasta with Zucchini, Eggplant and Tomato from Serious Eats. Anytime I can mix pasta with fresh veggies, I do so gladly, and this recipe is perfect for others who share that same foodie interest. I only deviated from the original recipe a little bit, substituting tomato sauce I had frozen from another day for the can of crushed tomatoes the recipe called for. I don’t believe it changed the recipe dramatically – I mean really, tomato sauce IS a form of crushed tomatoes, so I only cheated a little 😉

What I loved most about this recipe is the interplay between the tomatoes and the veggies. I love eggplant and zucchini for their unique flavors and how they blend together so nicely by themselves. Adding the sweet tomato element highlighted the flavors of the eggplant and zucchini. Sauteing the veggies beforehand is a great method – it bring forth deeper flavor and makes the veggies tender and succulent. Sprinkle the dish with a bit of Parmigiano and, my favorite, more red pepper flakes, and you have yourself a delicious pasta meal!

For the full recipe of Pasta with Zucchini, Eggplant and Tomato, visit Serious Eats.

