BUONISSIMI RAVIOLI… Red Pesto Ravioli

by valentinalucia

I may have found the ravioli recipe that was a direct FedEx from Heaven. It’s like God said, “Signed – sealed – delivered – it’s yours! Even humans need to have a spectacular ravioli….” Red Pesto Ravioli, adapted from 101 Cookbooks, is simply to die for. I didn’t even follow the recipe to a T, and it still came out fantastic. This is a definite must-try for anyone who loves ravioli, and pesto!

The star of this recipe is, without a doubt, the pesto, and if anyone attempts to make this recipe with any other ingredient as the star, I guarantee it will not turn out as delicious. I always loved the idea of making different kinds of pesto. Don’t get me wrong, I have a huge respect for the classic basil pesto, but I’m all for experimentation. This red pesto, created with sun-dried tomatoes, toasted pine nuts and red pepper flakes, is a kicker! It’s so creamy and dreamy and garlicky and pesto-y and spicy – can’t you tell I’m obsessed? My mom even licked the bowl of the pesto when I was done with it – that’s how you know it’s good!

I also have to give a shout out to the ravioli – I used Buitoni Whole Wheat Chicken and Prosciutto Ravioli, which added a whole new dimension of flavor. The original recipe calls for goat cheese ravioli, which would work great when using goat cheese to garnish. I, however, did not have goat cheese to play with, and considering ravioli are traditionally stuffed with ingredients like prosciutto and chicken in Italy (as opposed to cheese-filled), these ravioli seemed ideal to me. The ravioli complimented the flavor of the pesto, and created a marrying of flavors that worked incredibly well. Having a bed of soft, luscious spinach to lay the raviolis upon was also a great decision, and makes for a great presentation!

For the full Red Pesto Ravioli recipe, visit 101 Cookbooks.

