MIRTILLI… Blueberry Mini Muffins!

by valentinalucia

I have a personal connection to the magazine Whole Living, formerly known as Body+Soul. This past semester, I had to do a huge Intro to Magazine project for college – we had to pick a magazine we liked and do a 15 pages research paper discussing the magazine’s history, style, editorial process, etc. One of the requirements was to interview two people from the magazine’s staff. the project turned out to be a success for me and I still keep in touch with a senior editor who was kind enough to let me interview her. After spending so much of my time invested in learning about Whole Living, I feel a strange connection to the magazine, even now long after the project has been completed. Whenever I can, I pick up the newest issue on the newsstands – but, with my luck, it’ always such a pain to find! It seems like every place I go to pick up this magazine, it’s not there! Luckily, on a short trip into Boston yesterday, I found the July/August issue of Whole Living and was so pleased to find an article on blueberries and their many uses and health benefits. In the article was a recipe for Blueberry Health Muffins, the recipe this batch of Blueberry Mini Muffins is based on.

Sometimes I wish I could just find a recipe and make it exactly as directed, but, me being me, I can rarely do that. I always end up adding this or that, substituting this for that, and what not. Usually things turn out fine on my end and my experimentation yields exciting results, and a new recipe. This time was no different! These mini muffins turned out moist and fluffy on the inside and coated with a grainy, almost crunchy oat topping on the outside. Blueberries give the muffins a kick of tartness, however it’s by no means overpowering. There’s just the right amount of sugar in the muffins, and the brown sugar on the topping of the muffins provides a more direct complement to the tart flavor of the blueberries. The texture is also unique thanks to the healthy wheat germ in the recipe, which I love because it’s something different that you don’t normally see in muffins. These mini muffins are cute, summery and perfect for a picnic with friends and family!

Did you know blueberries have one of the highest antioxidant values found in food? This makes these tiny berries big fighters against multiple diseases. Find out more about blueberry nutrition from the U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council, and find more berry recipes on Whole Living.

Blueberry Mini Muffins (adapted from Whole Living)

Ingredients:

Muffins

3/4 cup whole-wheat flour

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup toasted wheat germ

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup skim milk

1/4 cup 1% milk*

1/4 cup applesauce

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup blueberries (preferably fresh)

*Note: You can use any kind of milk you like – just make sure the total amount of milk is 3/4 cup. I prefer to use low-fat or fat-free milk, almond milk works too!

Oat Topping

2 tablespoons toasted wheat germ

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1/4 cup rolled oats

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray two 24-cup mini muffin pans with nonstick spray.

2. In a bowl, whisk together both flours, wheat germ, baking powder, cinnamon, sugar and salt. Make a well in the center of the bowl and add milk, eggs, applesauce and vanilla extract. Mix until just incorporated. Fold in blueberries.

3. Divide batter among muffin cups. Combine all ingredients for oat topping (wheat germ, sugar and oats) in a small bowl and sprinkle over tops of muffins. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean – about 15 minutes. Let sit in pan for 5 minutes, then transfer to rack to cool completely. Yields about 3 dozen mini muffins.

For the original Blueberry Health Muffins recipe, check out the July/August issue of Whole Living – on stands now!

