LA MIA SFORTUNA… Lucky Lemon Sugar Cookies – gone completely awry!

by valentinalucia

My valiant attempt to redeem myself after a messy homemade ice cream fiasco turned out to be almost as successful as the fiasco itself :/ Don’t even get me started on the ice cream… let’s just say I was almost up to my knees in ice cream goo – not a good night. I wanted to bake something today, not only to make up for my messiness last night, but to also add another recipe to the house because my recent ones are almost gone. My father really likes lemon, so I had a recipe all picked out for today. Then I checked my email and found this recipe from Martha in my mailbox – Lucky Lemon Sugar Cookies. They seemed pretty simple, so I put my other recipe on the back-burner and went with this one instead. Granted, I changed the recipe – needless to say, the cookies came out completely different and kind of bummed me out. However, the most important thing still stands – they taste good! So, I (semi)reluctantly present to you my Sfortuna Lemony Sugar Crisps!

Oh, by the way, your Italian lesson for the day: sfortuna means “unlucky” 😉

All my little changes really added up. My advice to any baker when you try a new recipe is, if you want, make one or two changes to the recipe to accommodate your style (in my case, I like to make things a little bit healthier when I can, so I often substitute applesauce with butter, etc etc). However, do not make so many changes that if you wrote out your version of the recipe and placed it next to the original, no one would be able to tell one version was derived from the other. Unless, however, you know exactly why you want to make so many changes and are aware that the recipe is now a different recipe. I’ve done this with other baked goods and things have turned out fine, because I knew I was making a different batch of cookies, or a different loaf, or whatever. Just be aware of what you want to make and how you want to make it.

In any case, my sfortuna cookies did taste lemony, with the right balance of sugariness. I think my father will like them. i like to believe that, when it comes to food, at the end of the meal, what matters most is taste – not a perfect presentation. Sure, we eat with out eyes first and foremost, however taste trumps all – and I’m happy with the taste of these cookies. Give them a try if you want to fight with cookie sheets and have a lot of delicious crumbs to scoop up and snack on. Or, you know… you could just go with Martha’s recipe, too 😉

Sfortuna Lemony Sugar Crisps

Ingredients:

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons of all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup canola oil

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

1 egg

2 tablespoons lemon juice

more granulated sugar for sprinkling

Preparations:

1. Preheat over to 400 degrees Fahrenheit, spray two to four baking sheets with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

2. Whisk together flour, cream or tartar, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.

3. With an electric mixer, beat together applesauce, oil, and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. Mix in egg and lemon juice.

4. Mix in dry ingredients with a spatula until well incorporated. Scrape down sides of the bowl as needed.

5. By the tablespoon, spoon batter onto baking sheets, leaving an inch or two between each. Sprinkle tops of dollops with granulated sugar. Bake until edges are slightly brown, but centers are still on the soft side – about 7 minutes. Let sheets cool on wire racks for 3 minutes, then remove cookies and allow to cool on racks completely. Yields about 3 dozen cookies.

broken lemony bits =P

