L’ULTIMA RICETTA PER LE MIE “MENTEES”… Oatmeal Smore Cookies!

by valentinalucia

Summer is coming to a close, and honestly, I cannot wait for school to start. Seems odd, doesn’t it? Usually students never want summer to end – but this has been the Endless Summer for me, and I really miss Syracuse. However, I will miss my mentees, Agostinha and Ajaneè! This is our last full week together at Teen Voices, and besides the awards ceremony on the 16th, our work together will be done by this coming Wednesday. I’m incredibly proud of both of them for all the work they’ve done to create an awesome special feature about teen dating abuse for the magazine, so I wanted to make something special for my last recipe tat I’m bringing in for them on Monday. I decided to transform an old, beloved recipe for Oatmeal Cookies into something a little more fun and interesting. Here’s my creation – Oatmeal Smore Cookies!

I’m probably almost as proud of these cookies as I am proud of my girls (I say almost because I don’t think I could be prouder of my girls!). These cookies have the same, great soft consistency as the original recipe, but with a pop of smores flavor. I love the sweetness from the marshmallows and how it’s complemented by the touch of bitterness from the chocolate chunks. The graham crackers also provide a nice crunch to an otherwise soft cookie dough.

The smell of these cookies is another wonder about them. When they come out of the over, they smell like traditional, lovely oatmeal cookies – cinnamon, oats, sugar and all melting together to create a wonderful scent. But then your nose adjusts and you realize these are not just any old oatmeal cookies. Smores sensation all the way!

Oatmeal Smore Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup  sugar (1/3 granulated, 1/3 light brown, 1/3 dark brown recommended)

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 large egg white, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons canola oil

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup chocolate chunks

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup crushed graham crackers, plus more for sprinkling

1 cup sifted cake flour

1/2 cup white whole-wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

5-8 marshmallows, cut into small pieces (or mini marshmallows work too)

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray baking sheets with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Whisk together sugars, applesauce, egg white, oil and vanilla in a bowl until smooth. Stir in chocolate chunks. Add oats, crushed graham crackers, flours, baking soda, cinnamon and salt to the mix. Stir to incorporate dry ingredients into the we until blended.

3. Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto the baking sheets, leaving about a inch to an inch and a half between each cookie. Place a few marshmallow pieces on tops of cookies, and sprinkle with more crushed graham crackers. Bake until lightly browned, about 15 minutes. Transfer sheets to wire racks to cool, about 5 minutes. Remove cookies from sheets and let cool completely on wire racks. Yields about 3 dozen cookies.

