MMM, DISARONNO… Amaretto Fudge!

by valentinalucia

I have neglected you in the past week – and I apologize. Things have been getting tight around here; finishing up at Teen Voices, finishing up with Fitsmi, starting with Broadway Magazine, AND packing for Cuse has been crazy here in Massachusettsland! But don’t worry, I’ll be baking lots of goodies for my college family, so there will be more posts to come before school begins! Here’s a new creation of mine – fudge! Mmmm everything about fudge makes me happy. It’s basically a square of chocolate, smooth, creamy goodness, with some flare built into it. This is my second attempt at fudge, and by far the best – Amaretto Fudge!

My first attempt went all kinds of wrong, yet still tasted insanely good. The texture of my first fudge wasn’t as solid as it should have been – it was almost too creamy, which made it difficult to cut and tear away from the fudge log. And, when I thought I used Disaronno Amaretto – I actually used Grand Marnier (my father conveniently forgot to tell me the flask which usually held amaretto now held Grand Marnier, nice, hah). So even if it didn’t come out exactly as I wanted it, it still was yummy and delicious.

This fudge, however, is the real deal. Solid texture, but melts in your mouth almost immediately. The chocolate is smooth and incredibly flavorful, while the hint of amaretto paired with almonds just makes this fudge a lovely dessert. It’s so simple to make too! Give it a try, and I guarantee, you won’t be sorry!

Amaretto Fudge

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups bittersweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk (I used Nestle brand)

1/2 cup chopped almonds, toasted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4-1/3 cup Disaronno Amaretto

Preparations:

1. Line an 8-inch square pan with waxed paper, letting end of waxed paper extend over the edges.

2. Melt chocolate chips with sweetened condensed milk in a heavy saucepan over medium-low heat until smooth and incorporated, stirring when necessary. Remove from heat; stir in almonds, amaretto, and vanilla. Pour into pan and spread evenly, smoothing out the top with a spatula.

3. Let sit for one hour, then move to refrigerator. Let fudge chill for at least 3 hours, preferably over night. Remove from pan by lifting edges of waxed paper. Cut into squares. Yields about 20 medium-sized squares.

