LA PRIMA RICETTA PER I MIEI AMICI A SIRACUSA… Lemon Blueberry Muffins!

by valentinalucia

T minus 6 days… T minus 6 days until I go home to Syracuse again! I’ve already started baking for my friends, and here’s the first recipe I made to take with me. It’s a new recipe that I hope my friends will like – Lemon Blueberry Muffins!

Blueberry muffins, to me, are a classic dessert and/or snack. They just feel home-y and comforting. I wanted to do a slight twist on just the normal blueberry muffin, so I decided to incorporate lemon juice. I like the pairing of blueberries and lemon juice – not only does it just feel like summer in a muffin, but the flavor pairing is fantastic. In these muffins, the lemon flavor is noticable, but just enough – it’s not overpowering at all, and it really helps bring out the natural flavor of the blueberries. The texture of the muffins is also great – firm to the touch, but soft, moist, and fluffy on the inside. Let’s hope they stay that way until my friends eat them next week!

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup white whole-wheat flour

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup of blueberries, plus extra for topping each muffin

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk (I used skim)

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Farhenheit. Coat muffin trays with nonstick spray and set aside.

2. In a bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder and salt un incorporated. Stir in the blueberries. In a different bowl, whisk eggs, milk, applesauce, and lemon juice together. Fold the egg mixture into flour mixture wth a wooden spoon (or spatula would work too) until just blended. Spoon the batter into the muffin tray and top with additional blueberries if desired.

3. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Remove and let sit in tray for 5 minutes. Then, remove the muffins from the trays and let cool completely on wire rack.

