PER RINGRAZIAMENTO… Time for Some Pumpkin!

by valentinalucia

I should be studying for an Astronomy test – but cooking is more important 🙂 I’m going to try to do something new, since I feel bad that while at school I don’t post here as much. I’m going to try to do a food tip each day – just a small snippet of information to keep those cooking brains going! Since Thanksgiving is just around the corner, today’s tip is about one of my favorite Thanksgiving/autumn ingredients – pumpkin!

Choose small pumpkins when buying them fresh to cook with. Small pumpkins with dark-orange flesh are sweet and perfect for making muffins, breads, pies, and soups!

Here are some interesting recipes I’ve found using pumpkin (both of which are on my to-cook list!):

  • Gina from Skinny Taste’s recipe for Pumpkin Butter made with pumpkin puree, vanilla, apple cider, cinnamon, brown sugar, and spices. Perfect to spread over toast, muffins, breads, or anything else!
  • Honey & Jam’s recipe for Pumpkin Bread with a cinnamon pecan filling – it looks so luscious and moist, and I know my father would like this recipe because he devours pecans!

I can’t wait to get home for Thanksgiving (Ringraziamento) so I can see my family and cook in my kitchen once again! There are a few recipes I want to tackle, but I’ll probably have to wait until Christmas break to try most of them.

I think I’ll be making biscottis over Thanksgiving break. I have a bunch of dried cherries that were given to me by a friend (she doesn’t like them in her trail mix, and she knows I love them, so she gives me bags and bags of them!) and I’d like to make a dried cherry biscotti – maybe a dark chocolate and dried cherry biscotti. I found this biscotti recipe I may model my cookies after. Results to come!

