CILIEGE PAZZE… Cherry Chocolate Biscotti!

by valentinalucia

Damn it feels good to be in my own home – and kitchen – again after three long months! I knew I was going to kick off the holiday cooking season with this recipe thanks to a friend of mine who has provided me with one of the essential ingredients for the recipe.

One of my very close friends from college gets packages from her father from Trader Joe’s all the time (gotta love Trader Joes!). These boxes are full of great trail mixes, granola, pastas, cookies, and other fun foods from the market. There’s a certain trail mix that has dried cherries in it, but my friend doesn’t like the cherries and knows I eat them by the handful, hah. So she gives me bags and bags of just dried cherries, and I mix them into cereal and such to eat regularly. Since I have so many dried cherries, I figured I’d make something with them – Cherry Chocolate Biscotti!

I have to say, these came out quite good! I’m only disappointed because my friend who gives me all the cherries won’t eat them because she doesn’t like cherries! (I’ve got something else up my sleeve for her, no worries šŸ˜‰ ) They have the hard texture a biscotti is supposed to have, not overly sweet, and the tartness from the cherries balance out the sweetness of the chocolate chips. Cherries and chocolate are a wonderful combination – and since I’ve been craving biscotti, their combination was the best one for me to incorporate into a cookie recipe!

Cherry Chocolate Biscotti (yields about 2 dozen biscotti)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup dried cherries, chopped

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray one baking sheet with nonstick spray.

2. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add eggs and vanilla, and beat until dough is formed.

3. Stir in dried cherries and chocolate chips.

4. Place the dough on a lightly-floured surface and kneed for a minute or two. DivideĀ  dough in half to form two flat logs, about 9 inches long and 3 inches wide.

5. Place logs on baking sheet and bake for 25 minutes (until lightly browned on top).

6. Let cool on the baking sheet resting on a rack for 10 minutes.

7. Lower heat to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

8. Cut the logs diagonally into 1/2-inch-thick pieces on a cutting board.

9. Put back into oven for 10 minutes, turning the cookies over at 5 minutes.

10. Remove fromĀ  sheet and let cool on baking rack.

