PER LE MIE AMICHE AL LAVORO… Flourless Peanut-Chocolate Cookies (a Martha adaptation)

by valentinalucia

Winter break means a break from college stress and the relief of being back in my own kitchen! The first recipe I chose to make this season is an experiment and a gift – a different recipe for classic peanut butter cookies, just so I can compare the recipes I have, and I plan on bringing them in for my girls at Victoria’s Secret when I go back to work this weekend. It’s a Martha recipe with my own spin – Flourless Peanut-Chocolate Cookies!

Now, I already have a peanut butter cookie recipe that I know works, and works well. My Peanut Butter Mini Chip Cookies are well liked in my family and amongst my friends. I wanted to try this recipe from Martha Stewart for peanut butter cookies mainly because it has fewer ingredients and no flour. I love how peanut butter cookies can be made in many different ways and turn out great each time, just with little variations that make each recipe unique and special.

These cookies came out adorable and delicious! The lack of flour gave the cookies a buttery, soft, and almost flaky texture. It’s a texture I can only describe as the result of using a nut butter as the base of a cookie rather than flour – which isn’t a very good description at all, hah. Either way, upon biting into one of these cute, little cookies, you get the best peanut-y flavor as the cookie itself melts in your mouth. The peanut butter flavor and aroma is very deep, but not overpowering, and complimented by the roasted peanuts and the sweetness from the chocolate chips. I’m convinced that peanuts and chocolate is one of the world’s greatest flavor combinations, it’s hard to go wrong with it! Hopefully my coworkers like the cookies, too!

Flourless Peanut-Chocolate Cookies (yields about 2 dozen cookies)

Adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients:

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup roasted peanuts

Preparations:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray two cookie sheets with nonstick spray.

2. In a large bowl, mix together peanut butter, sugars, egg, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon until well incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips and peanuts.

3. Roll dough by the tablespoon into balls. Place balls of dough on cookie sheets, leaving about 2 inches in between each.

4. Bake until golden and puffed, about 12-14 minutes (rotate sheets from top to bottom half way). Remove from oven and let rest for 5 minutes on cookie sheets on top of wire racks. Transfer cookies to wire racks and let cool completely.

